Without experienced counsel, the uninformed often receive extra days in jail and other penalties that can be avoided.
Twenty years ago there was no such thing as an “Extreme DUI.” Now two people sitting side-by-side in Arizona, drinking the exact same amount can receive substantially different penalties.
Arizona Revised Statutes 28-1382(A)(1)
It is unlawful for a person to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle if the person has an alcohol concentration of 0.15 or more but less than 0.20 within two hours of driving.
First Offense Extreme DUI Penalties in Arizona:
The maximum sentence for a first offense Extreme DUI is six months in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.
The minimum sentence for a first offense Extreme DUI in Arizona includes:
- 30 days in jail – In a limited number of City Courts, individuals without a violent past may be eligible to serve as few as 2 days in jail with the remaining 28 days served as home detention
- Alcohol screening and counseling.
- Fines, fees and costs of approximately $2,762.50
- Driver’s license suspension
- Ignition Interlock after license reinstatement
- 8 points assessed against driver’s license
- Attend traffic safety school
Other potential penalties:
- Possible Probation for up to 5 years
- Possible community service
- Possible MADD Impact Panel
- Possible Jail costs
- Possible increased Insurance premiums
- Possible SR22 ( High Risk Insurance)
It is important to hire an experienced DUI lawyer who actually understands how the courts, judges, and prosecutors operate. Each court has sentencing guidelines. Even with the guidelines, not all judges working in the same court sentence the same way. Additionally, in some jurisdictions, the court may offer home detention but the prosecutors will not include home detention in a plea offer. Attorney Robert A. Butler has appeared in courts all over the valley. He has handled thousands of DUI cases. He knows how to make sure you get the best possible outcome. For a free consultation, contact us today.