What are the penalties for DUI/DWI in Arizona?
The penalties for a DUI in Arizona can be very different depending on your alcohol concentration, the circumstances of your case, and the actual court in which you appear. For example, the law may say the minimum jail sentence for a certain type DUI is 30 days. A person reading that law may think that they will have to serve 30 actual days in jail. In some Arizona courts under certain circumstances, it is true that you will serve 30 actual days. However, in other courts, with proper representation, you may be able to get the charge reduced and/or qualify to serve a substantial portion of your time as house arrest.
It is important to hire an experienced DUI Lawyer who actually knows how the different courts and judges operate. For a free initial consultation, call us at 602-266-8282, or click here to contact us now.
What are the costs for DUI/DWI in Arizona?
For a first time DUI offense in Arizona, you could expect to pay a total cost between $8000 and $24,000 for a AZ DUI. A second DUI offense in Arizona within a 7 year period will increase the costs. Below is an example of the costs for a first time DUI/DWI.*
- Standard fines, Assessments & Surcharges – $1,512.50
- Jail Cost (For 1 Day) – $130.00
- Alcohol Screening – $50.00
- Alcohol Classes – $585.00
- Traffic Survival School – $100.00
- Ignition Interlock Device (For 1 Year) – $1,200.00
- Car Insurance Rate Increase (For 3 years) – $5,700.00
Total – $9,277.50
Other potential costs that will increase the total include:
- Probation Fees
- MADD Impact Panel Fee
- SR-22 High Risk Insurance
*This is an example for illustrative purposes only. The actual costs will vary.
Robert Butler invites you to contact his office to arrange your free first consultation. Call 602-266-8282.